Funky rhythms, breezy bossa nova, oriental experiments and adaptations of Skaldowie hits alongside each other? Katowice’s PRiTV Entertainment Orchestra, led by Jerzy Milian, didn’t place any restrictions on itself…

Active in the years 1974-91, the Orchestra distinguished itself from the beginning with its unusual combination of instruments and superb sounding vocal section. A small extract of the Orchestra’s sessions in those days was released on LP in 1975, today reaching astronomical prices on internet auctions. “Pretekst” is a further development and supplement to that legendary album: mainly previously unpublished pieces from that same period. The album includes the captivating themes of Witold Ciechanowicz ( “Feretron”, known for library music fans as “Now or Never”), the funk experiments of Jerzy Wilanowski and Zbyšek Bittmar, as well as surprising arrangements of Skaldowie and Czesław Niemen’s hits.

The material has been remastered from the original tapes from Polish Radio Katowice archives. The booklet contains an extensive history of the group’s first years and previously unpublished photos. The album is released on vinyl record as well as on CD (with four additional tracks). This album is part of a festival for fans of Jerzy Milian, along with the premiere of his autobiography “Wiem i powiem” and the exhibition at the Museum in Chorzów (October 2017 – January 2018).

1. Ćma
2. Sprzedaj mnie wiatrowi
3. Chyba warto zaryzykować (Pondering)
4. Dobranocka
5. Medytacje wiejskiego listonosza
6. Pretekst (Why Do You Say Goodbye)
7. Może się uda
8. Stary dzwonnik (Enjoy Yourself)
9. Nieznośna Ania
10. Jacku, czy ci nie żal
11. Feretron (Now or Never)
12. Wstawaj! Pójdziesz leżeć!
13. Czwarte podejście (Phase Out)
14. Od wschodu do zachodu słońca

15. O rany, ale upał
16. Zimowa miłość
17. Trzy cztery
18. Błękitny ślad

Orkiestra Rozrywkowa PRiTV w Katowicach
dyr. / cond. Jerzy Milian & Piotr Kałużny

GAD CD 062
OUT: 27.10.2017
FILE UNDER: Easy Listening / Grooves
BARCODE: 5901549197846